Uncategorized

Planning Life


When I was a teenager I would go to palm readers to see what my future would hold. Sometimes they were right and others not even close. If I sit back and think about what I would like to see or have for my future I can usually only think forward about a month. Thinking forward 15 years well that’s a bit of struggle for me. I find that for my short term future (a month ) or even long term (3 months), helps if I set goals. In order to set realistic goals I have found that its best to go on a a self discovery walk of my life. Who am I ? What do I want for my future? How can I get to that future? 


Writing out a mission statement by answering a few questions is one way to start the process.
I am at my best when I really want something. .I will try to prevent times when I loose faith in myself to succeed. I enjoy working in a job that allows me to help others.I will find enjoyment in my personal life by doing things with family and taking trips. I will find opportunities to use my natural talents and gifts such as decision making, helping others, multi-tasking and knitting.I can do anything I set my mind to. I would like to be a travel nurse, then in 20 years become an instructor of nursing. To see the world and help others along the way would be great.My life’s journey is a series of ups and downs. I find that I am learning everyday how to be a better person for myself and for others. I am exposed to many types of people and learning about them teaches me how to help others who might have similar situations in life.I will be a person who on my 80th birthday will have a big party with family and friends all gathered around to laugh and share stories from our past.My most important future contribution to others will be being able to help Having kindness and being there for others.I will stop procrastinating and start working on:school, returning to school will allow many new doors to open for me and my future. Financially I could do things better by saving and getting that higher paying job.I will strive to incorporate the following attributes into my life:You can be anything you want to be if you put your mind to it. Stay grounded and focused. If your going to do something, make sure you do it the right way.I will constantly renew myself by focusing on the four dimensions of my life: Daily prayer, spending time with my family, having a 20 min time out, and exercise. 

After completing my mission statement I can set goals for myself , short term and long term. There is a website to help you stay on track called stickk.com, you can put in your goals and then set the stakes and have people in your life help you stay on track. The stakes part is set by you and is real money the overall idea is great. I chose to have a jar and every time I didn’t hit my goal I have to place a dollar in the jar and If I do hit my goal my support people put a dollar in the jar for me. My first goal is school. I want to continue making good grades for my short term, which leads to my long term of graduating with honors. My second goal is work related, I would like to study different areas in the nursing field. My third goal to save money. These are all possible goals for me and I can reach each one in steps. 

I read in my course book “On Course,” that we all have many roles we play in our lives and I did an evaluation of this for myself. The book said that the average person has four to seven roles. Having too many can be a distraction and set you up for failure. I found that I have five roles, mother, wife, daughter, employee, and student. All of my goals and roles in life connect to each other. When I complete school I will be able to get that higher paying job, help support my family and parents. When I play out the bigger picture and imagine what the future has in store I know I can attain these goals, if I have a plan set into action. Even though it has taken me some time to get on the right track I have learned from my previous derailments.Today I have my map and I am ready to start my journey
.










Leave a Reply

